Commonwealth Foundation for Public Policy Alternatives
Line spacer

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Line spacer

Last night, the leaders of Pennsylvania’s government unions blocked paycheck protection bill SB 166—which would end the unethical practice of using taxpayer resources to collect and distribute political campaign contributions. The House voted down the bill 90-102.

While this outcome is disappointing, here's why you should be encouraged.

First, this was the first time the House ever voted on a paycheck protection bill. Legislation has not only passed the Senate (twice) but House leaders are championing the reform.

Second, government union leaders currently employ 82 lobbyists to fight for their unethical and immoral privileges. But despite these long odds, you’ve helped us put these union leaders on defense.

Third, we will continue fighting to level the political playing field. Using public resources for political activity is unfair and unethical.

Last, in spite of the pressure of government unions that bring in hundreds of millions of dollars off forced union dues, in spite of the 82 lobbyists in the Capitol pressuring them to say no, 90 members—just 12 short of passage—stood up for you and said YES. That's not easy, and we appreciate it. Thank you!

If your representative is listed below, please click here or on their name below to send a note of thanks.

House of Representatives, Yes Votes

Matt Baker Kerry Benninghoff Aaron Bernstine
Stephen Bloom Martin Causer Jim Christiana
Bud Cook Jim Cox Lynda Schlegel Culver
Bryan Cutler Gary Day Sheryl Delozier
Russ Diamond Matt Dowling George Dunbar
Cris Dush Brian Ellis Joe Emrick
Hal English Eli Evankovich Garth Everett
Mindy Fee Jonathan Fritz Matt Gabler
Mark Gillen Keith Gillespie Keith Greiner
Seth Grove Marcia Hahn Adam Harris
Doyle Heffley Sue Helm Tim Hennessey
David Hickernell Kristin Hill Rich Irvin
Lee James Barry Jozwiak Warren Kampf
Rob Kauffman Dawn Keefer Fred Keller
Mark Keller Jerry Knowles John Lawrence
Ryan Mackenzie John Maher Zach Mako
David Maloney Ron Marsico Kurt Masser
Steven Mentzer Daryl Metcalfe Carl Metzgar
Brett Miller Dan Moul Mark Mustio
Eric Nelson Tedd Nesbit Donna Oberlander
Jason Ortitay Michael Peifer Tina Pickett
Marguerite Quinn Jack Rader Kathy Rapp
Dave Reed Mike Reese Brad Roae
Eric Roe Greg Rothman Frank Ryan
Rick Saccone Tommy Sankey Stan Saylor
Paul Schemel Justin Simmons Curt Sonney
Craig Staats Will Tallman Mike Tobash
Marcy Toepel Jesse Topper Mike Turzai
Justin Walsh Judy Ward Ryan Warner
Parke Wentling Jeff Wheeland David Zimmerman

And below is a list of the 102 members that said government unions—and ONLY government unions—should be able to use your taxpayer resources to collect campaign contributions. If your representative is listed below, consider asking why he or she believes that to be fair.

House of Representatives, No Votes

Bryan Barbin Stephen Barrar Ryan Bizzaro
Kevin Boyle Matthew Bradford Tim Briggs
Rosemary Brown Vanessa Brown Donna Bullock
Frank Burns Thomas Caltagirone Mike Carroll
Morgan Cephas Alex Charlton Carolyn Comitta
Scott Conklin Becky Corbin Michael Corr
Dom Costa Paul Costa Angel Cruz
Mary Jo Daley Margo Davidson Tina Davis
Jason Dawkins Madeleine Dean Daniel Deasy
Pamela DeLissio Frank Dermody Gene DiGirolamo
Michael Driscoll Carol Hill Evans Florindo Fabrizio
Frank Farry Isabella Fitzgerald Marty Flynn
Dan Frankel Robert Freeman Ed Gainey
John Galloway Robert Godshall Neal Goodman
Michael Hanna Patrick Harkins Kate Harper
Jordan Harris Sid Kavulich Patty Kim
Stephen Kinsey Brian Kirkland William Kortz
Leanne Krueger-Braneky Anita Astorino Kulik Harry Lewis
Mark Longietti Maureen Madden Joseph Markosek
Jim Marshall Robert Matzie Stephen McCarter
Joanna McClinton Thomas Mehaffie Nick Miccarelli
David Millard Dan Miller Duane Milne
Gerald Mullery Thomas Murt Ed Neilson
Brandon Neuman Michael O'Brien Bernard O'Neill
Eddie Pashinski Joseph Petrarca Scott Petri
Thomas Quigley Chris Quinn Christopher Rabb
Adam Ravenstahl Harry Readshaw James Roebuck
Mark Rozzi Chris Sainato Steve Samuelson
James Santora Michael Schlossberg Peter Schweyer
Brian Sims Pam Snyder Jared Solomon
Todd Stephens Michael Sturla John Taylor
W. Curtis Thomas Tarah Toohill Emilio Vazquez
Greg Vitali Perry Warren Katherine Watson
Jake Wheatley Martina White Rosita Youngblood
*9 Representatives did not vote.  

Thank you for getting paycheck protection this far and for continuing to fight with us. I wouldn't be so encouraged if it wasn't for you—and we wouldn't be nearly so far in this process if you weren't involved.


Charles F. Mitchell
President & CEO